Noisy Shoes

Dancing through life with my noisy shoes. Can’t wait!

Midlife crisis or just another six weeks of something I MUST try? Not sure yet. But my latest obsession is tap dancing. This summer I was overcome with inspiration thanks to Thoroughly Modern Millie and La La Land. My husband is getting just a bit tired of hearing Another Day of Sun and The Tapioca blaring around the house. It’s time to move my obsession to the basement.

I’ve ordered “how to” videos.  I’ve created a logo for the front of my concrete basement tap room. I’ve assembled a group of friends who are willing to tap with me. I’ve purchased tap shoes. And now all I need to do is clean my basement.

This was too good of a pun to pass up.

I’m not sure it matters, but it has me asking the question. Why? Why tap dancing? As a kid I was forced to take ballet when my gymnastics coach told me I needed some grace or I would be done in the sport.  I was done. Gymnastics had already given me all I needed to make me smile. Run. Swing. Flip. Fly. Grace not necessary.

Tap dancing is different, I think. I hope. It looks wild and tiring and musical and a little like exercise. These are things that all make me smile.

When I put my tap shoes on for the first time yesterday, I was not disappointed. I already sounded like an instrument when I walked through the kitchen. It was so cool. I wore them for a few hours just so I could hear myself walk. Noisy shoes! I love them. I want to wear them all day everyday. I want to tap dance in the elevator like Julie Andrews and Mary Tyler Moore on my way to my office. I want to tap dance through the supermarket parking lot. I want to tap tap tap my way through life.

I guess I want my noisy shoes to shout to the world that there is joy on my way…even when the way I am going is really, really hard. I can let my noisy shoes remind me of the “happy” as I walk through the sad. It’s just so hard not to smile when your feet make such amazing noises.

This is a crazy tap dancing classic!

 

3 thoughts on “Noisy Shoes

Leave a Reply

