Be a Genius Dragon, Not a Mean One

unicorn

Advice for unicorns needing money: I’ve heard you should always speak politely to enraged dragons.

 Accounting was not a profession I ever aspired to, but there is no getting around it. There is an element of accounting that must be done in life—no matter what your position. It is pretty simple really. There is a pot of gold. You are the dragon guarding that gold. You spend it carefully and try to have a little gold to spare at the end of the year. You fly around and collect more gold during the year so you continue to have enough for the future. Sounds easy, right?

As my week unfolded and I kept relaying my work finance issues at the dinner table, my husband reminded me of something Albert Einstein said. Thanks, husband. Now I can’t get it out of my mind. It hit me especially hard.

Intellectuals solve problems. Geniuses prevent them.

–Albert Einstein

I love this quote so much because it highlights the importance of strategic thinking. It is very easy to get wrapped up in our day-to-day firefighting and fixing of problems. But, carefully planning, predicting, and seeing the road ahead keeps problems to a minimum and prevents having to “fix” anything at all.

And, yes, it applies to taking care of a budget, too.

I think strategically all the time, but sometimes I neglect or am just too optimistic around the all-important budget end of the equation. So, to practice my belt tightening skills I decided to write a poem to express my feelings and spare my husband’s ear tonight. Not just any poem. One with a budget. Haiku, of course. You get seventeen syllables. That’s it.

Combing through dollars on spreadsheets.

Smart? Some days.

Genius? Maybe next year.

Leave a Reply

