Hope Springs Eternal

mapmexico

It is strange to find yourself in the bookstore.

Yesterday I wanted to throw my phone and computer into the ocean and run far away from the things of man.  It was just that kind of difficult week. A colleague of mine used the word hope in front of me…to which I responded “I don’t believe in hope.”  To me hope isn’t some nebulous thing that exists out there that we can depend on. Hope, to me, is just hard work mixed with grace.

What a difference a day makes.

Hope springs eternal in the human breast;

Man never is but always to be blessed:

The soul, uneasy and confined from home,

Rests and expatiates in a life to come.

— Alexander Pope, An Essay on Man

Today, I woke up with abounding appreciation for things all around me. I guess you could say I woke up with hope –a feeling of trust. Trust that things get better. Not that they won’t sometimes get worse, but that there is so much to love in a day. Here’s what brought me hope today:

  1. My Washing Machine. I did three loads of laundry today IN MY OWN HOUSE. I put laundry in the machine, turned it on, and was able to catch up on email while the machine did the work for me. I went without a washing machine last year. I kept telling myself that driving to the laundromat every weekend when it was my turn to use the car wasn’t so bad. It wasn’t. But, oh, how I had forgotten the lavish luxury of having your very own machine. Wow. I felt so rich this morning when I could just wash what I wanted on a whim.
  2. Fruitcakes. One of my favorite Jimmy Buffet songs came to life today as I stood on my driveway and watched a man ride his bike no handed down my street. He was simultaneously playing a guitar and singing at the top of his lungs. It must be Spring.
  3. My Job. As troublesome as it has been the last few days, I am so grateful for my job. I never take it for granted. Not a single day. Jobs have no guarantee of lasting, even if you work hard.  So each day you can work is a great day. Even on your day off.
  4. The Bookstore. In my search for that perfect vacation book, my past came alive as I was attracted to books on subjects I used to spend years studying. I even picked up the National Geographic Adventure Map on the Yucatan Peninsula and was amazed to see they are still printing the content, photography, and maps we produced for them….all these years later. Words live on even after dreams die. Cool.
  5. Dirt. Today was Earth Day. My company provided a giant pile of compost for us to use in our gardens. What a treat. At noon I went to the pile for the second time this week and shoveled deliciously nutrient-rich soil into the Cranberry Crush.
  6. The Sound of Music. My favorite movie of all time. A nice way to end the day. Now there is a story of hope. Thank you, Fraulein Maria.

It is human nature to always find fresh cause for optimism. –Proverb

2 thoughts on “Hope Springs Eternal

  1. I hope you are having a wonderful time… I hope I someday am fluent in Spanish…I hope someday Jack grows up to be a fine man, and moves out… I hope I can do the 50 mile ride and not get lost and end up biking 75!
    I hope we’re friends forever.
    JMHE

    Like

Leave a Reply

