What Was the Little Drummer Boy Doing in the Women’s Locker Room During Easter?

drummer

Who can resist this catchy tune?

“Come they told me
Pa rum pum pum pum

A new born king to see
Pa rum pum pum pum

Our finest gifts we bring
Pa rum pum pum pum

To lay before the king
Pa rum pum pum pum,
Rum pum pum pum,
Rum pum pum pum”

These words echoed from the mouth of a little girl behind the shower door at my local recreation center. After the first stanza, her mom, who was assisting with shampoo, joined in on all the “rum pum pum pum’s.”   So sweet.

I had to sit down on the bench and stop putting on my shoes. I wasn’t going to miss a note of this concert. That is when it dawned on me….she was singing a Christmas song….during Holy Week! Not “Peter Cottontail hopping down the bunny trail…” or Jesus Chris is Risen Today….no, she was singing The Little Drummer Boy.  How strange.

Except it really isn’t that strange, is it? Kids like what they like. They sing when they are happy and they sing whatever is on their hearts. Seasons don’t matter. Location doesn’t matter. Only the joy of the moment matters.

I’m sure the angels in Heaven were smiling down on her, also enjoying the concert, and not criticizing her for singing the wrong song during the wrong holiday about a character that never existed on a day that wasn’t and never will be Christmas.

My heart lightened.

As I washed my hair this morning, I caught myself rum pum pumming — my new favorite Easter song.

One thought on “What Was the Little Drummer Boy Doing in the Women’s Locker Room During Easter?

  1. My all time favorite rendition of this song is by David Bowie and Bing Crosby… It’s a song about giving your all, sacrificing, using your gifts that were given to you for others…a perfect Easter song!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

