Food Is Fuel, Not Our Friend

fish

Actually fish are food, not friends. It is food that isn’t our friend….I think.

Is food really just fuel and not our friend? Sometimes I think a pizza is my friend. Or a Dairy Queen Blizzard…that’s been my friend a time or two.  I’m having a hard time with this concept that food is not our friend and that I should change my mind set to one that food is merely something I put in my mouth to make sure I have enough energy to get everything done.  If that were the case, I’m pretty sure God wouldn’t have given us taste buds. Or maybe our taste buds are just an adaptation humans have developed to keep us from eating poison. Wait…if that’s true, then if it tastes good, it must be good! Oh no, I’m starting to rationalize chocolate again. Someone stop me.

Nevertheless, I am going to attempt to treat food as only fuel for the next seven days and see how that turns out. I looked up several 7-day challenges and they are all simply ridiculous. You would need a garden and a private chef to do what they are asking.  Who has that kind of time and money? Some of the plans actually want you to drink their fortified smoothies everyday. Not going to happen. So, I’m making up my own challenge.

My 7-Day Challenge

Water. Lots of water and only water to drink. (Lots is a technical measurement.)

Sugar. None. Very scary.

Fruits and Vegetables.. Yes. But, only ones I like.

Protein. Lean protein. Absolutely. Oh, and fish. They are food, not friends.

Dairy. This is a tough one. A lot of challenges say to eliminate it. But I’m not. This is my challenge so I’ll do it my way. No cheese, everything else is fair game as long as it is nonfat or low fat.

Grains. None. This one is going to hurt. I love grains. But I can do anything for 7 days, right?

Exercise and Stretching. Exercise is not a problem. I already try to make time for that everyday. Stretching…that’s the challenge.

Now, last thing. I need your support. I’ll check in after seven days and let you know if I need my friend back. I’ll miss you pizza and chocolate!

 

Leave a Reply

