Ode to the Cranberry Crush

crush

Queen of the Road in the Cranberry Crush. Six wheels and a spare. Sweet freedom!

It has been a long dry spell without four wheels (see post on Hurricane Wilma). Two wheels I’ve always had and will always cherish. Now I guess you could say I have six wheels and a spare. I’ve been dreaming about the day I would get a car of my very own and my dream was big. Not just any car — my dream car — a Toyota Tacoma Off-Road Sport truck with an access cab.  One that had enough room for a couple of bikes in the bed and maybe a kayak. It was a great dream.

This July 30 that dream became a reality when I leased my new baby, which I lovingly call the Cranberry Crush. And, I haven’t looked back.  The Crush and I have traveled 4,700 miles together already.

The Crush makes me smile every day. I think because it isn’t just a car. It is freedom! When I took my mother-in-law for her inaugural ride in the Crush, I was beaming.  I told her how I was free to go anywhere now.  I could go to the grocery store anytime I wanted. I told her how I could leave for work when I wanted. I told her how I could carry my bicycle and ride off into the mountains. I told her to look in the back and notice how the access cab was big enough to carry suitcases, but not really big enough to carry extra people and that is just how I wanted it. The Crush was built for me and one other person of my choosing and today that was her.

As our joyride continued and we were at a stoplight, she cut off my freedom speech and looked me in the eye. She said in her most serious voice, “Trish, remember, you still have a family.” We laughed. I must have worried her just a tad with my adrenaline-pumped monologue. I assured her I wouldn’t forget. The Cranberry Crush isn’t a replacement for family–it is a new member. Just don’t ask to borrow the keys…I’m not quite ready to share yet.

Sorry boys! My truck is called the Cranberry Crush. Too girly sounding for you to drive, but tough enough to get through anything.

Sorry, boys! My truck is called the Cranberry Crush…too girly sounding for you to drive, but tough enough to get through anything.

One thought on “Ode to the Cranberry Crush

  1. WHEN do I get to see the Cranberry Crush??? I still want to take you out to lunch for your birthday. Yes, that one all the way back in July. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

