Top 10 Midline Crossings

beach-reabuild

Cancun rebuilt their beaches after Hurricane Wilma. I rebuilt my life. (From midline crossing #10 below.)

I have plenty more growing and learning to do. I know this because of how much I’ve already done. Just when you think you’ve experienced everything…surprise! There’s more.  I can’t wait to find out what’s next…or can I?  But, just so I don’t lose track of those epiphany-filled, life-changing perspectives, I thought I’d make a list of my top ten midline crossings to date. When I wrote this list down, it occurred to me that others who read this list might say, “Well, duh?” But, at some point in my life these realizations went beyond the level of nice sentiments or truisms and hit me so hard that they significantly altered the way I acted, lived, and responded forevermore. I may find a way to explain all of these in future blogs, but for now, here are my top ten, in no particular order:

  1. You cannot rationalize everything, especially for other people.
  2. Supportive adults (that are not relatives) need to be in the lives of children.
  3. Most people don’t know what they are arguing about, but they could.
  4. We are made to be salt and light to the world and we all have value no matter what we perceive others think, even ourselves.
  5. Editing is not about spelling and grammar, it is about asking really hard questions.
  6. Let people in.
  7. Suicide is a logical option, but not a very good one.
  8. Great leaders serve others and don’t lead alone.
  9. Don’t ever assume you understand someone’s feelings or circumstances or that you know what is best for them.
  10. Working extremely hard,  having good intentions, and giving everything you have doesn’t guarantee you will succeed.

What is your top ten list of midline crossings?  I challenge you to write them down.

Leave a Reply

